Minutes of Executive Council Meeting (30-06-2013) held at

GCS Medical College, Ahmedabad

 EC Meeting of IAPSM- GC was held on 30th June 2013, under the Chairmanship of Dr. K N Sonaliya (President-IAPSM-GC).

Following members were present in the meeting.

- 1. Dr K. N. Sonaliya (President)
- 2. Dr R. Mahajan (Vice President)
- 3. Dr. A. M. Kadri (Secretary)
- 4. Dr. Viral Dave (Joint Secretary)
- 5. Dr. Venu Shah (Treasurer)
- 6. Dr. Bhavesh Modi (EC Member)
- 7. Dr. Vaibhav Ramanuj(EC Member)
- 8. Dr. Dineshkumar (EC Member)
- 9. Dr. Dhiren Amin (EC Member)
- 10. Dr. Alpesh Patel (EC Member)
- 11. Dr Dileep Andhare (EC Member)
- Dr. S. L. Kantharia, Immediate Past President and Dr Mamtarani , Dr. Bharti Koria, Dr. Smruti Gamit, Dr Parag Chavda -Members-EC have asked leave for absence because of their social engagements. The Governing body has considered their absence and started the meeting.
 - The meeting started with welcome speech of the president, Dr. K N. Sonaliya
 - Following agendas were decided to be discussed during the meeting.
 - 1. Approval of minutes of Previous Meeting
 - 2. Appraisal about present activities.

- 3. Planning of the activities for the next year.
- 4. Expansion of the Editorial Board for Healthline.
- 5. Any agenda with the permission of the chair

Approval minutes of first EC Meeting: Minutes of meeting were read out by Secretary – IAPSMGC. The minutes were unanimously passed.

Appraisal about present activities:

Report on following activities carried out during previous year was appraised.

- **Post graduate certificate course** has been started. 20 post graduates were enrolled under the same. First contact session has been completed within planned duration of 2 months.
- Membership drive: Almost all post graduate students have become life-members of IAPSM.
- **Update the directory:** upgrading of the directory for any change in addresses and contact details of existing members is not up to the mark.
- Multi centric project should be carried out by the Association: Project proposal on tobacco product (COTPA) was sent. Technical consideration was given to the project but unfortunately financial support could not receive.

Planning of the activities for the next year:

- Meeting with the IPHA- GC regarding the joint conference- It was decided to make a
 coordination committee which can arrange a meeting with IPHA-GC to discuss with
 them issues related to their active participation in organizing the joint annual state
 conference.
- Promoting the Research: it was discussed and accepted by all the members to form
 one Regional co-ordination committee which can take care of research activities under
 the IAPSM-GC.

Following regions will be covered under the same (Proposed).

- 1. Ahmedabad (Ahmedabad)
- 2. Gandhinagar (Gandhinagar, Patan)
- 3. Vadodara (Vadodara, Gotri, Waghodiya, Karamsad)
- 4. Surat (Surat, Valsad)
- 5. Saurashtra (Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Jamnagar, Surendranagar)

volunteers will be invited to take active part in this committee.

- Training/Academic Activity: Post graduate certificate course has already started under IAPSM –GC. It was suggested by the members that courses on occupational health can be started for post graduates. Name of Dr. Dileep Andhare was suggested for initiating the same. It was discussed among the members that IAPSM-GC could take part in the training programme for Block Health Officers to raise their administrative and managerial capacity. Name of Dr Umed Patel was suggested to work for the implementation of this initiative.
- **Project proposal:** It was discussed among the members that IAPSM GC can be the platform to carry out projects in collaboration with government as well as agencies like UNICEF. Evaluation of SRIM activity can be the one of such activities. Name of Dr Vaibhav Ramanuj was suggested to work out the same.

• Healthline Journal:

- To reduce the printing charges, it was decided to limit the distribution of hard copies of journal to authors, Head of the departments and sponsors.
- Regarding publication charges, it was discussed that opinion of members can be taken through online discussion.
- To revise the Editorial board of the journal: Name of following members were suggested
 - 1. Dr Samir Shah
 - 2. Dr Sandip Bhalla
 - 3. Dr Dileep Andhare

- 4. Dr Naresh Makwana
- 5. Dr Kushwaha
- 6. Dr Sanjay Agrawal
- 7. Dr Rajesh Kumar

Guideline committee for Vasudev Rawal oration:

Following members were nominated for this committee-

- 1. Dr S L Kantharia
- 2. Dr K N Sonaliya
- 3. Dr P B Verma
- 4. Dr Uday Shankar Singh
- 5. B.S. Bhavsar

In the end, President thanked all the members for attending the meeting and giving valuable inputs.